Lesson 1 :

Ichchhaminam Bhante.

I desire, Oh God!

Ichchhaminam - I desire

Bhante - Oh! God

Tubbhehim - Your

Abbhnunnaye - Permission

Samaane - Be sanctioned (for)

Devasiyam - During daytime

Paddikkamanam - To undo sins commited

Tha-yemi - I sit at one place.

Devasiya - Pertaining to daytime


Gyan - (for gaining ) knowledge

Darshan - Darshan (Meaning true & holy faith)

Charittacharitte - And stop the incoming, karmas

Tapa - Abandon previous karmas

Aiyar - (and for) blemishes on vows

Chintavanartham - for ponderance thereof

Karemi - I am doing

Kaussaggam - Meditation in a steady posture.


Lesson 2: Ichchhamithami Kausaggam

Ichchhami - I desire to

Thami - by remaining at one place

Kausaggam - (do) kausagga (to keep steady mind, speech and body)

Jo me devasiyo - for during the daytime

Aiyaro - sins (and blemishes)

Kao - I have commited

Kaiyo - by body

Vaiyo - by speech

Mansiyo - By mind

Ussutto - Against the holy scriptures

Ummaggo - Against the path of Jainism

Akappo - Such unbefiting work

Akaranijjo - (which is) not worth doing

Dujhao - Or foul contemplation

Duvvichintio - Foul ponderance

Anayaro - Not worth doing

Anichchiyavvo - Not worth wishing

Asavag Pauggo (deeds) - Not worth doing by a Sharavak (devotee)

Nane - Relating to knowledge

Taha - And also

Charittacharitte - And limited vows of Shravak

Suve - Relating to holy scriptures

Samaiye - In Samayik

Tinham - Three types of

Guttinam - Control (thought, word and deed)

Chauhnam - Four types of

Kasayanam - Kashay (vices, namely anger, pride deceit and greed)

Panchanaham - Five types of

Manuvvayanam - limited vows

Tinham Gunvvayanam - three types of gunvrata

Chauhenam - four types of

Sikkhavyanam - Shikshavrata

Baras - those twelve

Vihass - varieties

Savag Dhammass - of shravak’s duties

Jum Khandiyam - whatever breach  is commited

Jum Virahiyam - whatever contradictory has been done

Tassa Michhami Dukkadam - My sins concerned with that be pardoned and destroyed.


Lesson 3 : Ichchhami Khamasamano

I desire, Oh! Forgiving Guru.

Ichchhami - I desire

Khamasamano - Oh ! Forgiving (ready to pardon Gurudev) (gurudev-spiritual teacher)

Vandiun - To salute you

Javnijjaye - In accordance to my power (of the body )

Nisihiaye - by keeping away from sins,

Anujanah - permit me

Me Uggaham - to approach you

Nisihi - having stopped sinful acts

Ahokayam - thy holy feet

Kaysamfasam - to touch with my body (self)

Khamanjjo - Pardon me

Bhe -Oh Reverend ! you (if by my touch)

Kilamo - have been troubled

Appkilamtanam - are you free from afflictions?

Bahu Subhenam - In a peaceful manner

Bhe - Oh Reverend ! your

Divaso - day

Vaikkanto - has passed?

Jatta bhe - Oh! Reverend , is your pilgrimage

Javanijjam - Free from the afflictions of mind and senses

Cha - and

Bhe - Oh! Reverend, I ask for

Khamemi - your pardon

Khamasamano - Oh, Forgiving Guru

Devasiyam - During the day

Vaikkamam - faults that have been done

Avssiyae - Sins committed, while doing necessary religious essentials

Padikkamami - I refrain (from past sins)

Khamasamananam - forgiving gurus,

Devasiyaye - Daytime

Asayanae - by unworthy acts done

Tittisannayarae - any of the thirty-three

Jumkimchi - whatever

Michhae - (by) false notions

Mana Dukkadae - (by) evil mind

Vaya Dukkadae - (by) rude word

Kaya Dukkadae- (By) Unworthy physical act

Kohaye - (by) anger

Manaye - by pride

Mayaye - by cunning (cheating)

Lohaye - by greed

Savva kaliyaye - of all times

Savva Michhovayaraye - Of all undue behaviour

Savva Dhammaikkmanaye - up setting every religious vow

Asayanae - by irreverant acts

Jo Me - whatever I

Devasiyo - during the day

Aiyaro - sins and blemishes

Kao - Commited

Tassa - them

Khamasamano - Oh! forgiving guru

Padikkamami - refrain from

Nindami - I criticise

Garihami - even more in presence of Guru

Appanam Vosirami - and I keep my soul away from these sins

Next >>