What is jainism :: History :: Aum:: Legend :: Ahinsa

The purpose of jainism is to free the soul by purifying and guiding it to realise the blissful state of the true self. This liberation of the soul is possible by breaking the bondages (karma), attached through the cycles of birth and death during infinite time.

TIME : Since the beginning jain spiritual masters recognised six senses of human beings which modern science recognised only in last century. These masters isolated themselves from the internal weaknesses of anger, ego, greed, lust and were non attached from materialistic world. They were called Jinas. The jain scriptures carry the knowledge of these Jinas from generations and time.


Jain time cycle is known as kalchakra. According to jains time ie kal is eternal and formless. It is thought to be a wheel with 12 spokes called arcs (ages) six making ascending arc and six making descending. In the ascending arcs ('utsarpini' - rising era), humans gained knowledge, Progressing age, achieves stature and attains happiness. This is the age when fantastic progress in human life is seen. While in descending arc ('avasarpini' - declining era), they fall from great heights to the valley of darkness. This is the age of fear, chaos and anarchy, during these darker times 24 Jinas are born to guide the life forms from darkness to the light to remain calm, at peace and balanced, thus attaining blissful state. The two cycles put together, completes a rotation of the wheel of time (kalachakra), which is known as kalpa.

 They believe the world is endless and ageless. The universe according to jainism is mixture of elements known as substances (dravya), they are: soul, matter, mind, space, motion, and rest. These substances can neither be created nor destroyed and they only change their form.  
 Jains divided universe into five parts, which resembles a man standing with his two arms resting on the waist each side bent at the elbow, they are:  

1. Supreme Abode (SIDDHSILLA)

2. Upper world (URDHAVALOK)

3. Middle world (MADHYALOK)

4. Nether world (ADHOLOK) and

5. The Base (NIGODA)

1. The Supreme Abode - The head

2. Upper world - Chest

3. Middle world - waist

4. Nether world - Knees

5. The base - Feet

The lower world is divided into seven bands. Each one a little more darker than previous starting from top the brightest and bottom one is the darkest.

The middle world is made up of concentric continents separated by seas. Center of this is known as Jambudvipa. Presence of human beings is only in two and a half continents. Jainism is dominant only in Jambudvipa because thatís the only place where freedom of soul and salvation is possible.

URDHAYALOK:Is the heaven divided into two parts 1.For any soul, 2.For souls of those who are close to enlightenment.
SIDDHSILLA:At the top of the universe is Siddhsila. (The shape of full moon the nest of the liberated soul)
JIVA AND AJIVA:All the existing entities in the universe are categorised into two types.
Jiva and Ajiva . Jiva is all living being and Ajiva is without life. The soul rides on the chariot of the body. The body has six senses namely


3. HEAR,



Through the 6 senses,the SOUL is attached to the material world & become a prisoner of the passions. Out of this materialistic wants begins the cycles of pain and suffering. This creates a bondage (karma) for the soul.
Karma:The true nature of soul is being pure, free & blissful. But the effect of the material world & chain of birth & death known as karma, ties one down to the age of darkness. These karmas can be annihilated (cut) by practicing the code of conduct, preached by jinas. They are known as great 5 vows,
 1. Ahimsa: - Non violence

2 Satya: - Speak and live truthfully

3 Asteya: - abstain from stealing

4 Brahmacharya: - away from adultery and lust.

5 Aparigraha: - limit the possessions and not be a hoarderer
When an individual follows a code of conduct and succeeds in breaking the karma he moves to one of the five stages mentioned in Navkar Mantra before being liberated.They are:-
* 'Sadhus' (Ascetics)

* 'Upadhya' (teacher monks)

* 'Acharyas' (Masters)

* 'Arihantas' (Supreme Human beings)

* 'Sidhas' (Liberated Souls)
Arihantas are those who have attained Keval Gyan and they preach the principles,philosophy and path to liberation. Today in absence of Arihantas, Ascetics provides the spiritual guidance.
The spiritual path sits on a stool whose 3 legs are:
  • Right perception (samyak darshana)

  • Right knowledge (samyak gyan)

  • Right conduct (samyak charitrya)
Right perception awakens conscious state and shows the universal truth.

Right knowledge leads an individual to see things around him in balanced state of mind, thus guides to take the right action.

Right conduct puts the individual on path of freedom from karmas.

Absence of any of this does not let a person attain Moksha (Liberation).

What is jainism
:: History :: Aum :: Legend :: Ahinsa